Skip to Main Content

Chemistry: Databases

Chemistry

Contact

Phone:      07 3096 2603
Email:       Contact us

Post:        PO Box 594, Archerfield QLD 4108
Location: 39 Kessels Road
                 Coopers Plains QLD 4108
 

Literature research service

Whether you require specific information or a comprehensive literature search, we have the expertise, the resources and the networks to provide the information you need.

How do I submit a request?

Email: FSS_IRS@health.qld.gov.au
Phone: 3096 2603
Form: submit a Literature search request (QH network PC only)

If the search results are required urgently please phone us 3096 2603 OR email us at FSS_IRS@health.qld.gov.au

How do I receive the results?

Search results may be supplied in a range of formats depending on your needs. We can provide an EndNote library, a Word document, or a printed list. Full text content is emailed where appropriate.

Databases

  • Analytical Abstracts  - use the advanced search to specify analyte, matrix, technique and other parameters.
  • Google™ Scholar - search scholarly literature including theses, books, abstracts and articles.
  • INCHEM - internationally peer reviewed information on common chemicals. Includes:
    • CICADS (Concise International Chemical Assessment Documents)
    • EHCs (Environmental Health Criteria monographs)
    • JECFA monographs & evaluations (Joint Expert Committee on Food Additives)
  • MethodsNow - instructions for analytical and synthetic methods in areas of pharmacology, HPLC, food analysis and more. Contact the library for access.
  • MIMS Online -  comprehensive pharmaceutical product information including prescribing and consumer information, and product images.
  • ScienceDirect - Journal database (QH network PC only - FSS staff only)
  • SciFinder (Chemical Abstracts) - please contact the library for access.
  • TOXNET - a collection of databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases. Includes:
    • HSDB toxicology data for 5,000 chemicals.
    • Haz-Map links jobs and hazardous tasks with occupational diseases and their symptoms.
  • Other databases (QH network PC only)

Latest FSS staff publications - Chemistry

Bowman JR [et al...] (2024). Once upon a twine: The Donna Steele murder investigation and an improved methodology for the comparison of synthetic twine. Science & Justice, 64(1) 19-27. 

Fry B [et al...] (2023). Fingerprinting eukaryotic metabolism across the animal kingdom using position-specific isotope analysis (PSIA) ¹³C/¹²C measurements. Science Advances, 9(27). 

McGregor GB [et al...] (2023). Chrysosporum ovalisporum is synonymous with the true-branching cyanobacterium Umezakia natans (Nostocales/Aphanizomenonaceae. Journal of Phycology. 

Meikle J [et al...] (2023). Assessment of the stable isotope ratio variability of cling films purchased in Australia. Forensic Chemistry.

Peter T [et al...] (2022). The isotopic compositions of hexamine solid fuel tablets used to manufacture hexamethylene triperoxide diamine (HMTD) explosive. Forensic Chemistry, 31.

Cormick J [et al...] (2022).  Isotope fractionation during the synthesis of MDMA.HC1 from helional. Forensic Chemistry, 28 100406. 

Zawawi N [et al...] (2022) Unique physicochemical properties and rare reducing sugar trehalulose mandate new international regulation for stingless bee honey. Food Chemistry, 372, Part B: 131566.

Akter S [et al...] (2021). In vitro Bioaccessibilty and Intestinal Absorption of Selected Bioactive Compounds in Terminalia ferdinandiana. Frontiers in Nutrition, 8:818195. 

Cormick J [et al...] (2021). A survey of amphetamine type stimulant nitrogen sources by isotope ratio mass spectrometry. Forensic Chemistry, 26. 

Meikle J [et al...] (2021). A homogeneity study of cling films using stable isotope ratios. Forensic Chemistry, 23.

Chowdhury SA [et al...] (2020) A New Test and Guidelines for the Authentication of New-World Honeys. QACS 2020

Metheson A [et al...] (2020) A timeline of the co-detection of 4-Fluoroamphetamine and and 25C-NBOMe in Australia. VII Novel Psychoactive Substances Conference 2020

Currie T [et al...] (2020) An Evaluation of the Commercially Available Schiff Base of Helional and Methyl Anthranilate as a Precursor for the Manufacture of 3,4-Methylenedioxyamphetamine (MDA). Journal of the Clandestine Laboratory Investigating Chemists Association

The FSS staff publications collection is an electronic archive of research papers, presentations, posters, and other materials produced by FSS Staff. Contact Information Research Services to submit your work via fss_irs@health.qld.gov.au.